Naturalistic Neurodiversity

Exploring our differences through science.

Ableism in Atheism Anonymous #1

leave a comment »

Do you consider yourself to be a person with a disability? If so, what?

ADHD

Have you (or do you personally know someone who has) felt out-of-place or limited your involvement with an atheist community because of disability-related situations?

Yes, sometimes I know I can’t take extra sensory input or contentious discussions, so I stay home instead. Other times I employ the help of my partner to tell me if I’m being rude, or I bring something to crochet in order to calm my mind.

What steps could atheist communities take to become more inclusive?

Try to host more events on the weekends as opposed to the week nights. It also helps if it’s earlier in the day too, as opposed to all night long. I’ve already used up my emotional/mental reserves by the end of the work day. This tends to result in me skipping events I was hoping to attend.

Any other thoughts about ableism and atheism?

I recognize that my requests might be at odds with what someone would need who works nights and weekends, for example. I suppose diversity in event planning is the best approach.

Response #1 from the Ableism in Atheism survey. This response is my own.

Written by The Nerd

April 21, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Share your experiences.

